Sonata in c, Vitanata


Buy Printed Music Sheets
Buy Download pdf Music Sheets

Composer’s Notes

Sonata in c, Vitanata (for solo marimba) was written in 2005 for my performance at the Fifth International Marimba Festival in Mexico, where I premiered the work. “Vita” is latin for life. This piece is programmatic, not in the sense of there being a story behind it, but that it depites the essence or journey of life as I see it. The entire piece is based on one short motif which circles around the interval of a third. This motif is introduced as the second subject of the first movement.

The entire work is in four movements. The first is in traditional sonata-allegro form. The second is an intimid nocturne based on the theme-motif, with reminiscence of the first movement in the middle. The third is a scherzo-like fugue, the subject of which is also derived from the theme-motif. The fourth is a slow chorale which begins as a tragic requiem representing death, but transforms into a peaceful hymn of the theme-motif, representing life after death, Utopia.

~ ca. 30 mins.

Pius Cheung


See Complete Composition List

Comments are closed.